Meadow

Ghibli Quest - Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind

Yesterday I began my quest of seeing all of Studio Ghibli's films. My plan is to watch them in the same order in which they were released, so I started with Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind1.

While reading about the story for this film I found out that Hayao Miyazaki was having a hard time selling his movie ideas to studios, so he ended up creating a manga of this same story, which became so popular that his publisher asked him to create a movie. During this time his producer also enlisted the help of Joe Hisaishi, which would go on to become the composer for many of the future movie scores for Studio Ghibli!

The movie itself is wonderful. I don't know if maybe I'm biased in my appreciation but all of Miyazaki's movies have something that really sets them apart for me. While watching it I kept coming back to this idea, trying to pinpoint what it was that made it special. It's like there is a level of intimacy with the characters and story that is not common, but at the same time there is enough distance with them so that I can position myself firmly as a viewer. I don't know, maybe I just have this idea in my head and it's a self-fulfilling prophecy. Regardless, I had a good time with the movie and I heartily recommend it.




Spoilers below!




I wanted to comment on some points that I found interesting:


Overall, I really enjoyed the movie. It speaks to our shared experience as beings that are oppressed, and sometimes oppress others. It also reinforces the connections that we have as part of nature, one that is often forgotten, underappreciated, in our over-industrialized world.


  1. Technically this was released before the studio was founded, but it is the movie that made it possible and from what I've read online it's often considered the first Ghibli movie.

#movies